The Faculty History Project documents faculty members who have been associated with the University of Michigan since 1837. Key in this effort is to celebrate the intellectual life of the University. This Faculty History Website is intended as a component of the effort to document the extraordinary academic achievements of Michigan’s faculty in building and sustaining one of the world’s great universities. It provides access to a comprehensive database of information concerning the thousands of faculty members who have served the University of Michigan.
Find out more.

The Bentley Historical Library serves as the official archives for the University.

List of Professors

Name Years at Michigan Positionsort icon

Nicholas D. Falcone

1926 - 1935
Assistant Professor of Band Instruments (Wind Instruments)
Director of Bands

Clyde A. Carpenter

1954 - 1960
Assistant Professor of French Horn

Deborah S. Chodacki

1993 - 2008
Associate Professor of Clarinet

Soren S. H. Hermansson

1999 - 2006
Associate Professor of Music

Richard A. Beene

1990 - 2006
Associate Professor of Music (Bassoon)

Albert Luconi

1943 - 1963
Associate Professor of Music (Wind Instruments - Clarinet)

William G. Lucas

2010 - 2012
Clinical Assistant Professor of Trumpet

Clifford P. Lillya

1947 - 1980
Earl V. Morre Professor of Music

Lewis Hugh Cooper

1945 - 1997
Professor of Bassoon

John D. Mohler

1962 - 1994
Professor of Music (Clarinet)

Keith W. Bryan

1964 - 1994
Professor of Music (Flute)

Leone Buyse

1993 - 1997
Professor of Music (Flute)

Charles E. Owen

1972 - 1983
Professor of Music (Percussion)

Abe Torchinsky

1972 - 1990
Professor of Music (Tuba)

Arno Mariotti

1963 - 1982
Professor of Music (Wind Instruments)

Ernest Fred Ormand

1984 - 2007
Professor of Music (Wind Instruments)

William D. Revelli

1935 - 1972
Professor of Music (Wind Instruments)
Director of University Bands

Glenn Parkhurst Smith

1950 - 1981
Professor of Music (Wind Instruments)

Louis J. Stout

1960 - 1989
Professor of Music (Wind Instruments)

William H. Stubbins

1960 - 1975
Professor of Music (Wind Instruments)

Florian F. Mueller

1954 - 1974
Professor of Oboe & Wind Instruments

James D Salmon

1956 - 1972
Professor of Percussion Instruments

Michael W. Udow

1982 - 2011
Professor of Percussion Instruments